x18 (making progress)

So, usually when I post blogs it is me complaining or ranting about something. Several entries ago, I did personal update blogs, and this is one of those.

I changed the “About Me” and the “About the Blog”, which you can find on the right side of the entry. So, if you so desire, you can read the updated MO.

I got a job, finally. Aside from the job market, I think it took so long because I was looking for hours later in the day. Now, one would think that it would be easy to find an evening job – most people want to be leaving work at five so that they can go home and be with their families. Plus, I was willing to work weekend nights, which nobody wants to do. So, one would think that it would be easy for me to find a job, yes? Not the case. Whatever. The point is, I have a job now. It’s a small retail store, and they let me have pink hair and piercings. The dress code is casual, and thus far I like my coworkers. The only other retail place I’ve worked is Wal Mart, and those things make this place way better than Wal Mart. However, this new place that I work at has higher standards than Wal Mart (hell, EVERYONE has higher standards than Wal Mart). For instance, they’re really strict on register variances. The store policy is that for the fourth instance of a register variance over $5.00, you get fired. I mean, the policy itself isn’t a big deal – if you’re a cashier, you don’t want to be fucking up and having a shit ton of money under what the till should be. The big deal is that most other retail places don’t have a policy anywhere near as strict as this one. I’m a little bit concerned about this. I’m a good worker, so I’m sure I’ll be up to par. The way the policy is phrased in the handbook, though, it makes it seem like this is a really hard thing to get right and a lot of people get fircandy1ed for it. They make it sound a lot harder than it actually is.

I am still vegan. Now that I have a job, being vegan should be easier because the non-whole-food items that I crave (ice cream, cheese, butter, etc) can be purchased in vegan form. But it’s not like all vegan foods are expensive. Healthy vegans stick to a whole foods diet (veggies, legumes, carbs) and get their nutrients from regular non-processed food. Plus, those little non-pareil things (the dark chocolate discs with white sprinkles on top) come in those little red two-for-a-dollar things you can buy at convenience stores.  And that makes me happy.

I’ve been doing Wii Fit every other day for about a week now, and I have to say that it’s pretty cool. Some of the excercises are even designed to let you work out while you watch TV, which is a nice alternative to listening to the iPod while working out. I also like that it keeps track of your progress for you (and I have been making progress, which is exciting).

One of the things that I really want to work on is the time I wake up. I tend to not spend a lot of time awake (eight to ten hours), a fair amount of time in bed pretending to be asleep but not actually sleeping, and a LOT of time actually sleeping. If I’m working, I’ll get up around three in the afternoon; if I’m not working, I’ll get up for dinner – usually around five or six at night. I’ll stay awake until anywhere from midnight to two or three in the morning, then go to bed and not fall asleep around four or five in the morning. I’ve had some people suggest to me that this isn’t a problem and that I’m just a night person, and the other extreme is my mother freaking out about the fact that I’m not awake at six in the morning and going to bed at eight o’clock at night like she does. My personal goal is to be awake at noon every day, and go to bed between midnight and two in the morning. What can I say? I like my sleep. I figure it’s a good medium between pulling the graveyard shift and waking up at four in the morning like my dad does.

Oh. And my hair is now (partially) pink again. Pics will be up soon.

❤ you all!

One response to “x18 (making progress)

  1. Ohhhh, good update! It’s nice to read about your whole life. Eventually you would run out of things that piss you off anyway, lol.

Leave a Reply

