x36 (thanksgiving recipes, part one)

Ok, so here are the vegan recipes that graced my Thanksgiving table.

We kicked off the festivities in the morning with some pumpkin pancakes:

I’m not sure where my mom got this recipe, but it was great.

1 1/4 cups flour

2 tblsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp salt

A pinch of cloves

6 tblsp canned pumpkin

1 cup almond milk

2 tblsp Earth Balance vegan buttery spread

2 tablespoons water

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 tsp baking powder

Instead of using almond milk, I used SoDelicious Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk:

This stuff was so. Freaking. Good.

Mix the 2 tablespoons of water, 1 tablespoon of oil, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder in a separate dish until the mixture becomes foamy and fizzy. This will replace the egg. Mix the dry ingredients together, then add the canned pumpkin puree and the almond or coconut milk. Melt the butter before adding it in, and then add in the egg mixture. Whisk together until the lumps are gone. Spray a griddle or nonstick pan with a cooking spray and spoon in the pancake mixture. When the pancake starts to bubble, flip it over, and then wait a few minutes before removing from the griddle or pan. Voila – pumpkin pancakes.

The next recipe I’m going to share I snagged from The Pioneer Woman. This cornbread stuffing recipe was a huge hit with the vegans and meat eaters alike. I’ll share the vegan cornbread recipe that I adapted from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook, as well as the changes I made to the recipe.

¾ cup yellow cornmeal

1 cup flour

1/3 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 cup plain almond milk

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 tablespoons water

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 tsp baking powder

Mix the water, 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, and 2 tsp baking powder in a separate dish until foamy/fizzy. Preheat the oven to 425. Mix cornmeal, flour, sugar, 3 tsp baking powder, and salt. Add the milk, the egg replacement mixture, and the 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, and blend well. Spoon into lined muffin tins and bake for 20 minutes. Cool and cut into six pieces; dehydrate for 6 – 7 hours. If you don’t have a dehydrator, place them in the oven at 175 for the same duration.

For the most part, I kept the recipe the same. The original one calls for 16 cups of dried bread, but I only used eight – four cups of cornbread and four cups of your standard Peppridge Farm stuffing. The ingredients listed aren’t very quantifiable, which works for some cooks, but not others, so here’s exactly what I used:

1 whole onion

2 large celery stalks

1/2 cup Earth Balance vegan buttery spread

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp ground sage

1/2 tsp kosher salt

4 cups vegetable stock (I prefer Emeril’s)

This particular recipe was in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes (five minutes longer than suggested in the original recipe), plus it got placed in the broiler to heat it up since it was made a day in advance. My parents made two other stuffing dishes that weren’t vegan, but this remained the most popular. It was a good size to feed a family with a few leftovers, but wasn’t nearly as overwhelming as the original recipe (which used some of the stuffing to stuff a bird anyway).

This next recipe came from the Sweet Happy Life blog, and was for sweet potato and cranberry quinoa.

I made my quinoa in a rice cooker using vegetable stock instead of water (again, I prefer Emeril’s), and I added in 1/2 tsp of ground black pepper and 1/2 tsp of kosher salt. I like to add a dash of olive oil into my rice cooker to make sure the grains don’t stick to the bowl. I substituted frozen butternut squash for the sweet potato. I sauteed the onions and butternut squash in the olive oil when the rice cooker flipped from the “cook” to “warm” position, and then transferred the quinoa into the pan I sauteed the veggies in. Since I cooked the quinoa in the rice cooker with vegetable stock, you won’t need the two cups of water the recipe calls for. I then tossed everything in a bowl along with the dried cranberries and lemon juice (I used the kind that comes in the lemon shaped squeezy bottle and it turned out just fine). I thought it was really good, although nobody else was terribly interested.

I’ll post the desserts tomorrow. Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

