x37 (thanksgiving recipes, part two)

Alright, so here are the super yummy desserts I made. Numero uno:

Sweet Happy Life‘s Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

I’m not the best with yeasty things, but I gave it a shot. I used almond milk instead of regular milk, and Earth Balance vegan buttery spread instead of regular  butter. Instead of one egg, I used 2 tablespoons of water, 1 tablespoon of oil, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder, mixed together separately until foamy and fizzy. For the glaze, I used agave nectar mixed together with melted Earth balance vegan buttery spread. And make sure to use the Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips, which are vegan. One other thing: I had to stick this in the oven for 25 minutes longer than the original recipe called for, and it was still very dense and almost dough-y. Don’t get me wrong, everyone loved it – but like I said, I’m not the best with yeasty things.

The next recipe is a family one that I messed up royally on: the Sweet Potato Hot Dish. Learn from my mistakes, and don’t make them yours!

Now, I made this to serve one person, and it’s a very small dish. You may need to double this to feed multiple people.

2 cup canned sweet potatoes

4 tablespoons Earth Balance vegan buttery spread

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup water

Melt the butter and sugar in a skillet until melted. Add potatoes and mash, then stir until lightly browned. Add ¼ cup water and simmer, covered, on low heat for 15 min. Place in a buttered baking dish and bake at 350 for 30 min. Top with Sweet and Sara vegan marshmallows and place in the broiler until the marshmallows are browned.

Now, when I made this, I used half of what I’m listing here and I stupidly put the marshmallows in for the entire 30 minutes. Since the marshmallows exploded in the oven, that’s why it looks so messy. But it did taste good, I’ll give it that.

The last recipe I didn’t take a picture of because I was too busy eating it: Healthy Happy Life‘s peanut butter mousse pie. So. Freaking. Good. That being said, I think next year I’ll try to veganize my aunt’s recipe using the tip to use chilled coconut milk as vegan cream.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

