x80 (my vegan thanksgiving table)

Unfortunately, this year I don’t have any photos of the dishes I whipped up for Thanksgiving. I was a little too busy eating them with my fiancee and in-laws and enjoying being able to spend Thanksgiving with my baby family.

We started the day off with Martha Stewart’s warm berries and dumplings. To make things a little easier on myself, I simply used Bisquick for the biscuits. Note to self: cooking on a gas stove is very different from cooking on a 20+ year old electric range. You don’t need to turn the heat up as high, and when you do, stuff gets mad stuck to the bottom of the pan. Maybe I’ll try baking it next time.

The day before Thanksgiving I made the cornbread stuffing that I linked to last year. I loved it this year just as much as I did the last. I also whipped up two pies – a pumpkin pie via Fat Free Vegan Kitchen and an apple pie with a Panko breadcrumb crust. I used a store bought crust for the pumpkin pie, but honestly it wasn’t really necessary – the pie has a custard-like texture and is great without a crust (although the crust I used didn’t hurt the pie, either). I should also note I didn’t make this pie gluten-free –  I used standard flour and instead of the Ener-G egg replacer and 1/4 cup of water I used my standard 2 tbsp water, 1 tbsp oil, and 2 tsp baking powder per one egg, mixed together until frothy before adding in to the mixture. Also, instead of using standard spices, I used 1 tbsp of Starbuck’s Cinnamon Dolce syrup.

On Thanksgiving morning, I whipped up the creamy butternut squash pasta from Two Peas and Their Pod. I ran out of onions making the stuffing, so I omitted those. Normally I would have used 1/4 cup of almonds ground up in a food processor to replace the Parmesan cheese, but I neglected to purchase them the week before Thanksgiving so instead I used 1/4 cup Earth Balance vegan buttery spread. This was absolutely amazing, and I’m so glad there were leftovers so I can nom on it over the weekend. I also made Martha Stewart’s olive oil mashed potatoes with garlic and sage. I cheated and used mashed potato flakes, subbing the olive oil in for some of the water that the potato flakes required. Honestly, I don’t think anyone could tell the difference.

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving and enjoyed your food as much as I enjoyed mine!

Leave a Reply

