x82 (that damn swiffer wet jet bottle)

So I went to mop the floor today with my Swiffer Wet Jet, and it’s out of mop juice. I removed the empty bottle from the Wet Jet and naively assumed that I would be able to easily open the bottle to refill it with, y’know, whatever. But no. Swiffer wants you to spend loads of cash on their “specially formulated” Wet Jet juice. What’s a girl to do?

Google, that’s what.

So I found this awesome tutorial over on Instructables that I really wanted to share with my fellow housewives-in-arms. Basically, you fill a pot with enough water to cover the lid of the Wet Jet bottle, and then boil said water. Once it’s boiling, immerse the cap for a minute and a half and then give it a good, hard opening squeeze, and the cap will actually come off. Then, to make sure that you can remove the cap more easily next time, take a nail clipper or exacto knife and trim off the little prongs that surround the cap and the opening of the bottle. Presto! You can now refill your bottle with your own (less expensive) cleaning solution. I used one tablespoon of Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Castille Soap mixed with two cups of water (the instructions on Dr. Bronner’s website say use 1 part Bronner’s and 40 parts water, but 2 1/2 cups don’t fit in the Wet Jet bottle, so I opted for a slightly more concentrated concoction).  I’m super pleased with the way it turned out.

And what better way to treat yourself after a day of housework than with some yummy hot chocolate? Yea, that’s what I thought. To make hot chocolate for myself, I usually use 1 tbsp sugar, 1 heaping tbsp of cocoa powder, and 1/2 tsp vanilla, mixed with two tbsp of very hot water, and then I add my (almond) milk on top of all that and heat it up in the microwave. But today I was feeling a little adventurous, so instead of 1/2 tsp vanilla I added 1 tbsp of Cinnamon Dolce syrup from Starbuck’s. Mmm. You guys. Yummy.

Happy housecleaning, and happy post-housecleaning-treating!

Leave a Reply

