x157 (goals for the month)

GoalsSeptember

Image by Daniele Zanni, used with Creative Commons License, edited by Mydnyht Rantings

Unfortunately, August was another slow month for goals. I wasn’t able to put any money in savings, I was shoddy at getting up at 9:30, and I still haven’t set a date for the “framily” reunion. I did, however, finally manage to get an appointment with a podiatrist – I see her next week, and I was told to bring my running shoes. Hopefully it goes well and I can afford whatever they prescribe. I also hung up a white board near the entrance of our apartment, and I think because we’re nervous about things falling off the walls I’m done hanging things up for now. It looks a little more homey in here and I’m happy with that.

I have one major goal that I hinted at in my last blog post – I’d like to lose around 30 pounds by December. To help me with that, I’ve downloaded an app for my smart phone called Lose It that acts as a food and exercise journal. It’s handy but I don’t want to become too dependent on it – I don’t want to trigger myself into unhealthy calorie counting behaviors. I’ve also signed up for an eCourse through a Christian homemaking blog that focuses on a broad range of aspects of health – the first is sleep and rest, something I definitely want to focus more on. I think the balance of methods I’m using to keep track of my well being should be beneficial in keeping me from slipping into unhealthy behaviors.

I’m also taking another eCourse called “Make Over Your Mornings” (from another Christian homemaking blog) and I’ve decided I’m going whole hog in this: my goal is to get up at 8:30 (!) for 21 days in a row. I’ve been doing well so far (I’ve had two days where I’ve slipped up because some recent fiddling with my medication created bouts of insomnia), and I’m hoping I can keep up with it.

Once again, I would like to put money into savings, and set a date for the “framily” reunion and send out invites. My final goal is to get into a mental health clubhouse so that I can open up more opportunities for betterment – they provide various services for folx with mental health concerns, and it was a clubhouse that helped me apply for disability in the first place.

September? Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

